Technical questions for the MPC2000xl and the MPC2000
By octalforty Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:44 pm
Hello!

I am new with the MPC 2000XL - using it to sequence a drum machine and 2x synths - while also using it as a drum machine.

Ive setup everything up and its working - but Ive gotten a weird issue that I cant figure out what it could be.

So I have recorded 2 tracks with my synths - and 2 tracks on the MPCs own sampels.

When i play track1 (2 kicks), track 2 (synth), track 3 (synth) - works fine - no issues.

But when i start adding track 4 - which has Hi hats claps and some other things in the MPC - after the 3rd bar all the sampels chokes on the MPC, the synths are still going but no drums from the MPC.

Its like it chokes both tracks from the MPC and even if i pause the MPC the pads now have no sounds, if i change from DRUM1 to DRUM2 everything works again - but same thing happens if i play track 4 to 3 bar, then DRUM2 stops working.

If i reload the samples where back to square one.

So the issue is only with track 4 - and made all the samples poly and even if i only play track 4 - it stops playing after 3 bar and there are no sounds from the pads or sequence any more.

Anyone here that have an idea what it could be?
By tapedeck Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:52 pm
polyphony? sounds like you are hitting those limits. how long are you samples? is there extra silence at the end of the samples that is ringing out eating polyphony?

i believe you can only play 32 internal sounds at the same time.
By octalforty Tue Apr 18, 2017 8:58 pm
Thanks for the super fast response man!

Ive located the problem after another read in the manual about the MIDI settings of the sampler.

I changed the program settings from "Program Change:RECEIVE" to "Program Change:IGNORE"

This resolved the problem - not sure why - but now it loops.

Any idea of what it could be? Could my synths be sending anything? They shouldn't tho...