Technical questions for the MPC2000xl and the MPC2000
By 124111 Fri Nov 17, 2017 4:40 pm
Hi everyone,recently i have bought an akai mpc 2000xl and a multi card drive.Unfortunately i'm a newbie in this field and i thought that multi card driver was something just like plug and play,but regrettably this is not the case.I try to upgrade my akai from OS 1.1 to 1.14 but it not function.I think that i have connected the ide cable properly and also the power cable,because if is not i would brick my akai.Another information is that i boot my akai with compact flash card inside.Last but not least on the compact flash i do not upload anything is simply empty,due to the fact i don't have mult card drive reader for my pc but i will buy soon.
Below i would like to share how i have connected the ide cable and the power cable from the multi card drive to the motherboard in case i have done something wrong.Hope you could help me
P.s sorry for my englis but i'm italian

https://www.mediafire.com/folder/0qedqgzn0rtbb/foto
By JUKE 179r Fri Nov 17, 2017 8:39 pm
From looking at your pictures, try another CF card. Those no-name cheap CF cards are usually crap.
or
Try flipping and reinserting the 40-pin ribbon cable the opposite way onto the card reader.
or
Ensure the both power connectors are correctly inserted and seated for 5VDC use.
or...
I think for this kind of CF card reader you'll need the OS1.2 to use it on your 2000XL.
By 124111 Fri Nov 17, 2017 10:45 pm
I try to flipping and reinserting the 40-pin ribbon cable,but the akai don't boot up.
What compact flash do you suggest me to buy?
Do you reccomend to me to upgrade the akai from 1.14 to 1.20?
By 124111 Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:35 am
Thanks for the reply Wal Martian :)...and as for compact flash do you suggest me to buy?
By JUKE 179r Mon Nov 20, 2017 5:26 pm
yeah... SanDisk, Lexar or my fave... Kingston.
Wal Martian wrote:
JUKE 179r wrote:you'll need the OS1.2 to use it