Technical questions for the MPC2000xl and the MPC2000
By Tasha D Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:54 pm
Hi All,

Newbie here. I have a serious issue that maybe someone can help me with.
I have many Zip disk loaded with sounds. the only problem is I am having a hard time getting my Zip drive to read them. The drive doesn't have the click of death and it reads only the Operating system disk. I can see a program when I first put it in. but when I try to load it it says "scsi read error." I have been able to read a disk that came with another 2000 that I have so I'm not sure it is the drive But I know the DATA is still on the damn disks..... My ULtiMATE goal would be to get the sounds off and some how into my Logic Pro X. Any thoughts?

Thx :WTF: :cry: :?
By Wal Martian Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:07 pm
Zip disk format must be FAT (format the disk using the MPC Disk screen first)
.wav files must be 16bit 44.1kHz
File names must be 8 characters or less
Connecting the disk to a Mac might put hidden files on the disk making it unreadable
To get the sounds from your sampler into your Logic, record the stereo outputs of your sampler using 1/4" cables and an audio interface (same as any keyboard/drum machine/instrument)
By Tasha D Tue Mar 06, 2018 11:20 pm
So I figured how to record sounds into Logic via stereo outs. My issue is getting INTO the Zip disk to read the files that they may somehow be transferred to my computer OR another Zip disk so that they can then be either loaded into logic or any type of MPC program
that is compatible with my MPC 2000. I have all these sounds and no way to access them. I believe they were all formatted on the MPC... could they ever work in a standalone PC or better yet MAC without becoming
unreadable?
By Lampdog Wed Mar 07, 2018 4:41 am
2k classic formatted media. Disk not easily readable like 2kxl.