Technical questions for the MPC2000xl and the MPC2000
By kaneaudio2 Thu Apr 26, 2018 2:58 pm
Hi all been using MPC 2000 for years never had this problem and hoping someone can help. When I save sequences to the Zip Drive and reload them I get an immediate error and it won't load when I go back to the main screen the master tempo is stuck at 30.00 and when I try to change it I get the following error DIV: Error at 0FE8: 995E . I've tried new zip drives new cables and new disks. IT doesn't happen when loading programs and sounds only sequences. Appreciate any help

thanks

ryan
By narcoticnoise Thu Apr 26, 2018 4:30 pm
I had the same issue ! It's an OS Bug on the classic!
User @Harmoncj ran me through the steps to avoid it:)

Message he sent me VVVVV

Actually, I'm an expert on that topic!! Holy moly, most mpc2k heads don't even get this far. so yeah you will tend to run into that screen and freeze if you are working on a big project... the good news is there is a solution!

SHORT STORY:
you can almost always save your project by putting ghost loops on your closed hi hats and any other very short samples. you can do this by zone edits like
1) insert same sample at beginning of zone
2) silence portion of the sample
3) turn on loop and highlight loop somewhere in that silence zone (but leave ~100 space at the end
that should do the trick

LONG STORY:
Oh boy I could write a book explaining this but I'm pretty sure it only applies to this 1 MPC

so whats going on with that DIV ERROR is I think the MPC forgets to allocate its samples voices and envelopes correctly. Mind you that both attack and decay represent 5 whole seconds so if you are using very short one shot samples and you can easily stack up a ton of virtual envelopes that don't even have samples attached to them!

So I made up some tests to see what could force the DIV ERROR screen and what wouldn't, these are the facts :

1) if your sample is LOOP ON it can never create the DIV error screen.