For discussion about setting up your studio and advice on the gear and equipment within it.
By Jrogersz Thu Sep 28, 2017 7:53 pm
*my set up is the following: MPCXL, microkorg(not microkorg XL) and simple numark mixer. That being said...

So I recently bought a microkorg after wanting one for a while. I have everything set up to my mixer, the XL and korg are sync' via midi and I can record the korg sounds on the mpc etc. and all that good shit.

What I have a problem with is when I record something over my drums(which were made on the mpc) with the korg(let's say it's some bass notes), I get the bass line I want I record it, it's all good. Then I go to switch sounds on the korg and whatever I switch it to(let's say a synth piano) the bass notes are now playing in synth notes... wtf??? I want to be able to do different tracks with the korg and right now I'm restricted to 1 because every time I try to add multiple sounds/tracks via korg it switches my sound???

I am new to the whole midi thing, I've had my XL for years but never had a keyboard, so I am very confused and frustrated. If anyone can help me it'll be greatly appreciated. I've tried to find something about this on YouTube and there's nothing. Thanks in advance guys!
Last edited by Jrogersz on Thu Sep 28, 2017 8:45 pm, edited 2 times in total.
By Jrogersz Thu Sep 28, 2017 8:38 pm
Lampdog wrote:http://r.search.yahoo.com/_ylt=AwrTcdfYW81ZctUABoInnIlQ;_ylu=X3oDMTByb2lvbXVuBGNvbG8DZ3ExBHBvcwMxBHZ0aWQDBHNlYwNzcg--/RV=2/RE=1506659416/RO=10/RU=http%3a%2f%2fi.korg.com%2fuploads%2fSupport%2fmicroKORG_XL_OM_E1_633989730160880000.pdf/RK=1/RS=T5j1OiIG2g7tMS8FUyS.9LTPNvs-

Pg 81
I don't own a computer. Also, I don't have a microkorg XL just a regular microkorg. My set up is microkorg, XL, and a mixer.
By Lampdog Thu Sep 28, 2017 8:49 pm
Also I recall many saying microkorg is NOT multi-timbral.