New to the MPC production world? Got a music production question that's not really specific to any particular MPC? Try your luck here and get help from our experienced members.
By hankchilliams Thu Jun 25, 2015 8:11 pm
So I've been a musician and an absolute music fanatic since I was very young. One hobby of mine that I started back when I was 8 years old was record collecting. I have a pretty substantial library after collecting for a little more than 15 years now, and have a lot of classics on wax. Since I have a deep passion for hip hop, especially the production side, and I've been itching to learn a new instrument ever since I graduated college and started working, I thought it made the most sense to get into production and making beats.
My biggest problem is I have very little experience with any sort of production equipment. Obviously my goal is to scratch and sample off of all the records I have, and I've done a very small amount of research into MIDI Pad Controllers (since I am a drummer and thought it would work best for me to have pads to beat on) but don't know what's best for someone who hasn't touched any equipment like this before. Through my research, the MPC Studio looks to be my best bet, but I want some advice from experienced individuals before making a purchase.
Wanted to get some feedback and see what you guys think my next step in this process should be purchase wise. What's the best for thing for someone like myself who has a lot knowledge of and experience with making music, just not in this capacity? And the biggest thing: what do I need to get besides the MPC Studio (if that truly is the best product for me) to be able to spin the records and sample and chop up off of them? Thanks in advance.
By Doc00Cosel Fri Jun 26, 2015 4:53 pm