New to the MPC production world? Got a music production question that's not really specific to any particular MPC? Try your luck here and get help from our experienced members.
By roganjosh Wed Nov 18, 2015 6:17 am
Hey guys

I have a live band, and I'd like to blend elements of electronic music with it in live performances. I currently have an MPC 500. I'm just very new to this and have no idea what I'm doing.

I'd like essentially a 'backing track', where I can trigger different sections of song, and throw in samples whenever I feel like it.

The band also has a drummer, so any tips on how to sync a MPC beat with a live drummer would be appreciated.

Cheers
By LazarusDreams Fri Nov 20, 2015 12:50 pm
I am planning on doing the same thing with my Band...just got an MPC 1000. I do know some about playing with backing tracks. There are two ways you can go about this. The dangerous fast and loose way, and the safe sure disciplined way...lol.

The dangerous way depending on how your tracks are written is to just play the tracks live over a PA, or have the sound guy send you a monitor mix over the house monitors and pray your drummer has a good ear and will play along and not miss a beat. Of course this only works if you have some sort of rhythmic part throughout the entire sequence such as a baseline or small drum part to count to.