New to the MPC production world? Got a music production question that's not really specific to any particular MPC? Try your luck here and get help from our experienced members.
By Epictetus Mon Apr 11, 2016 9:55 pm
i'm new to the world of MPCs

I have the MPC1000 and i'm trying to appreciate it; i'm reading and listening to a lot of J Dilla (Donuts) and trying to understand the true magic of the MPC

What i struggle with is this;

...i'd like to use it inline with Logic Pro X. The most logical thing would be to use the 1k to get started with playing with a sample, then to record that into LPX?

I'd like to then create drum kits by taking individual hits from old records and layer them with other sounds like 808s, would the logical thing would be to then record that into LPX?

Basically i like the DAW but i want to try and connect with the magic of the MPC, i'm just torn by the old skool vs the new skool.

Can anyone contribute to my thought process and help me understand the process while appreciating the tools i have?
By Lampdog Mon Apr 11, 2016 10:32 pm
Epictetus wrote:i'm just torn by the old skool vs the new skool.

Use techniques you are comfortable with from both, combine
and create your unique workflow.
By Epictetus Tue Apr 12, 2016 6:52 pm
there is a little naggin voice in the back of my head that says to go down the MPD route where things can be managed between these two proverbial worlds.... Why would someone use a MPC alongside the DAW in a world where MPD can take its place? Assuming the person never really wanted to just work in a MPC.... is it that the MPC can just be used as an idea creation platform, is the chopping and layering of beats and samples that much smoother when you get into it? Is it better to work with less visuals and more with your ear?
By JamesJeffery Sat Apr 16, 2016 3:01 pm