New to the MPC production world? Got a music production question that's not really specific to any particular MPC? Try your luck here and get help from our experienced members.
By impalagasper Fri Oct 27, 2017 10:35 am
Hi, Im a sound engineer/music producer and after years of producing, Im now about to perform live. Many of my clients used Elektron stuff, I liked the sound a lot, but it looks like MPC might be a better solution for me. Brand is not important tho, Im looking for a good sound, intuitive workflow and reliability. My starter budget is 1200€.

Here is what Im after (example of what Im doing - https://goo.gl/Gtbxnu )

I would like to have one(!) piece of standalone(!) gear that allows me to run the following (without latency being a problem):
1. Live vocal (Id mix it live)
1.1 I do need preamps with enough of power (I know I need to try that, but any experience?) Phantom power is not a neccesity, would be nice tho.
2.Live guitar/instrument (Id mix it live)
3. Backing tracks (Id play backing track through)
4. Triggering samples over backing track (up to 6 different samples per song/project)
5. And at the same time, its important, that its easy to switch fast between songs/projects

I know I might be asking for a lot with this budget, but I do believe/hope there is something like that. And Im 99% NOT interested into overbridging and bringing computer into it. With bringing Ableton Live into this, Id need extra midi pads and extra interface, which bring latency, bunch of cables, routing and slower problem solving onto the stage.

Anyways, could AKAI MPC Live be it? What do you think is the best solution for me?

Thank you all and all the best,
Gasper
By MPC-Tutor Fri Oct 27, 2017 12:00 pm
There are no mic preamps or direct instrument inputs in the Live, only the MPC X, so all that would need additional gear.