Exchange tips and tricks for the Akai MPC4000
By Owlan Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:38 pm
Hi all

I've never used an MPC before - got myself a 4000 a few days ago and i'm on the learning curve roller coaster now!

I'm struggling getting my head around the difference between tracks and programs within a sequence. Would you say this is the logical way to view it?:

You have a separate program per track, to make up the sequence? So say I have a drum loop chopped - have that as program 1 on track 1. Then additional drums... program 2 on track 2. Piano chops - program 3 on track 3... and so on.

This might seem obvious to some but it's puzzling me. I've seen videos where people only have one individual hit per track... eg kick on 1, snare on 2... but others a whole cacophony of sounds on 1 track.

Is it just that there is no right or wrong to this? Are there particular benefits to the way you like to do it?

Sorry for being such a newbie bout this!
By MPC-Tutor Sat Apr 01, 2017 4:53 pm
You can only have a single program assigned to a track. Each track can be made from events triggering any number of sounds from the assigned program.

So you could for example record an entire kit on a single track, which works well if you record the entire kit finger style. Or you could split the kit with each sound assigned to it's own unique track (kick track, snare track etc, each using the same program). Setting it this way can make mixing and tracking to a DAW easier.
By wavejockey Mon Apr 10, 2017 6:33 am
to make things even more complicated you can record/play multiple tracks with the same program
lets say i have a drumkit in program 1
then i record BD in track 1, SD in track 2, etc
-all with the same program-
this way you can (un)mute simply the right stuff
By Ian Canefire Tue Apr 11, 2017 1:16 am
HI,
There is no right or wrong way. That sir is the beauty of this unit. Well engineered things tend to have many ways of doing similar things.
That said here is one way to see things: