Reviews and questions about the entry-level MPC500
By DjDiskmachine Fri Jun 15, 2018 8:23 am
Yo!
My jog wheel is really starting to bum me out, one click of a turn does simply no longer map to one action happening in the display. :Sigh:
Also, the buttons, especially the navigation arrows, more often than not require to be pressed more than one time for something to happen. These things really halt my workflow.
Does this affect other users too? I'm considering my options on how to improve this.
By Sharris Fri Jun 15, 2018 4:31 pm
With respects to the navigation arrows it sounds like you need new tact switches. I don't know how you feel about soldering, but a tact switch went out on my MPC 1000, I bought a pack of tact switches for like 50 cents a pop, bought a $15 soldering gun, I have no soldering experience & I replaced it in 30 minutes. So it's easy to replace tact switches, just depends on how you feel about fixing it yourself. Tact switches going out is pretty common with older MPC's.

Sounds like you might need a new jog wheel encoder as well, but not 100%.....not sure if it could be something else........ but that's what it sounds like.

Hopefully someone else can chime in...........
By DjDiskmachine Mon Jun 18, 2018 7:52 am
Yeah I'm trying to figure out what kind of encoder I need, can't really find what type it is in the service manual. The ones I find in my local electronics shop are 24 pulses / rotation, I guess I could just count how many steps it has on the MPC. =)
By Sharris Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:44 pm
Well here is the jog wheel encoder, costs $17.50 from MPC stuff (overpriced) - if you don't want to buy from them the picture might at least help you determine what type it is.

https://www.mpcstuff.com/mpc-1000-500-j ... l-version/

You can buy the ENTIRE board, encoder, tact swiches & all for $79.00 at MPC stuff as well.

https://www.mpcstuff.com/mpc-500-top-ri ... -switches/