Bug reports & end-user support for Akai's MPC Software 'controllers' including the new MPC Studio 2, the MPC Touch, MPC Renaissance & original MPC Studio and MPC StudioB lack.
By jayblu Thu Jun 15, 2017 5:29 pm
Questions:

I am quite new to home recording and MPCs. I have a few related questions concerning my MPC Touch, Focusrite Scarlett 2i4 and Fame phantom powered microphone:
1. What is the simplest/standard way to sample, in the MPC software (with an MPC Touch), from a microphone I have connected to a USB audio interface?
2. If the standard way to do this is by physically connecting the Out from the audio interface to the In on the MPC, is it possible to do this *without* physically connecting the audio interface to the MPC and *without* having to go into preferences on the MPC software and select the audio interface? That is, is both devices being connected to the same computer sufficient.

Naturally, I would more generally like to be able to open the Sampler and immediately sample anything I have connected to the audio interface (such as bass, guitar, keys). Notably, in my mind if I have to go into preferences on the MPC software and select the USB audio interface every time I want to sample this doesn't really count as simple if I could instead physically connect the two devices.

The microphone is phantom powered so it is my understanding that I cannot connect it directly to the MPC.

More details: