Share your knowledge on these two classic MPCs
By Ianbryn11 Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:06 pm
Hi, first post. just picked up an MPC 3000le... Love the way it grooves and sounds... only thing is the extreemely limited sample time. right now i was only able to sample 11 drum hits and im already out of memory. Not sure if this one has had the ram maxed out or not, not sure how to check... i like using gear with limitations, i think it helps to keep things focused and can inspire creativity in using whatcha got... however, this just doesnt seem like its enough for me. was using a 2000xl, and i could at least fill all the pad banks... Any solutions for working around the limited sample space would be appreciated.

Sorry if this is a question with an obvious answer, but im a newb in mpc territory...
By Emilie Mon Jan 09, 2012 10:10 pm
Ianbryn11 wrote:Hi, first post. just picked up an MPC 3000le... Love the way it grooves and sounds... only thing is the extreemely limited sample time. right now i was only able to sample 11 drum hits and im already out of memory. Not sure if this one has had the ram maxed out or not, not sure how to check... i like using gear with limitations, i think it helps to keep things focused and can inspire creativity in using whatcha got... however, this just doesnt seem like its enough for me. was using a 2000xl, and i could at least fill all the pad banks... Any solutions for working around the limited sample space would be appreciated.

Sorry if this is a question with an obvious answer, but im a newb in mpc territory...

Sample in mono. Resample bass in high pitch and then pitch the new sample down (also gives some nice aliasing). Cut your samples tight will also save you some space. If you want long bass tones you could loop the tail of the hit... And so on :-)
By b.read Mon Jan 09, 2012 11:58 pm
wait...they're not like, 11 really long timpani rolls are they? :lol:
By micb Tue Jan 10, 2012 12:13 am