Share your knowledge on these two classic MPCs
By The Phoenix Vision Fri Mar 01, 2013 8:49 am
My name is Brad I am a EDM producer. I work alongside a gentleman named Omar Santana. Omar has quite the name for himself in the industry and has been very successful during his career...and comes along with an amazing story! Omar has RP or Retinitis Pigmentosa, legally blind. The only piece of gear he will touch is the Roger Linn Designed MPC 3000, and let me tell you it is a quite the sight watching him work on one. In the past few years the disease has progressed to the point of nearly not being able to produce anymore. His vision is very blurred and tunnel like leaving it impossible to see the lcd screen on board the mpc. He had a dealer install the Akai IB-CRT VGA mod. Things were great for a while until the monitor went bad. I now am searching for a compatible vga monitor that will display the lcd contents larger so he can use the flashing cursor as a reference to know where he is from mode to mode etc. and so he doesnt accidentally erase instead of save and other catastrophes that have occurred are prevented. I have been searching for info on what separates a working display from a non working display. Seems to be hit or miss as to which ones work. If you have any ideas or info to offer me that would be helpful i would be forever in your debt.
Thank you
Brad aka Dubokle
The Phoenix Vision
I found pics here of a HP VS15 working...i bought one and it doesnt work, blank screen! Ive gone to several second hand vendors with the mpc and no luck finding one that works.....Is there a setting on the monitor i need to change or what is the determining factor that makes one work and not others?
By SimonInAustralia Fri Mar 01, 2013 9:26 am
Been meaning to try and work out why it only works with some monitors.

I took my MPC to a computer fair/sale, and went from seller to seller testing it with their second hand monitors until I found one that worked.