MPC X, MPC Live, MPC One & MPC Key 61 Forum: Support and discussion for the MPC X, MPC Live, MPC Live II, MPC One & MPC Key 61; Akai's current generation of standalone MPCs.
By Wormhelmet Sun Jun 17, 2018 3:12 pm
Looking for Live/X owners that also have iMPC Pro 2 and can tell me how different workflow is from one to the other.

I just got iMPC Pro 2 and the reason was to familiarize myself with newer MPC workflow because I’ll probably buy a Live soon and want practice.

I use mv8800’s, Spectralis 2, Circuit, and Synthstrom Audible Deluge for sequencing, but also Beatmaker 2 and 3, GR16 (Electribe 2 iOS style groovebox), some little work on iMPC Pro and iMPC already. I don’t need DAW integration. Haven’t used a DAW for 4 years now.

I have been collecting samples since 1999 and also frequently buy from Loopmasters, Producer Loops, but make my own a LOT.

Not a crate digger, but now a YouTube digger

Oh yeah - Happy Father’s Day to those that stick around to be one! My son is an actual crate digger, but he’s way cooler than me
By Wormhelmet Sun Jun 17, 2018 7:41 pm
dryad-66 wrote:Ah...Spectralis great machine.Been looking at the Polymorth too.Damn !!!!

Poly morph is a fun synth. Easier to learn sequencer by far than a Spectralis, but Spectralis has better synth engines. I bought a Polymorph in 1998 and sold it in 2004 as I went entirely ITB music production until tired of it and back to hardware in 2014. I bought one again used for about $900. Great sequencers and fun to create on.
By Wormhelmet Sun Jun 17, 2018 8:17 pm
Cockdiesel wrote:It’s similar but not 1 to 1, although I must admit I haven’t used the app much. It will give you a good idea of how it works but I still fumbled on the app because it does have some differences.