Akai MPC Discussion Forums


Post new topic Reply to topic             Share on Facebook     Send to Stumbleupon     Print view
Author Message
Member
Mixing Inside The Box (MPC 1000)
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:41 am
Posts: 186
Location: Los Angeles
I guess the thread head says it all, I'm new to the mpc 1000 but not new to music production, what are the best tips you've got for mixing completely inside the mpc-1000?

what i'm after is some self imposed limitation to stimulate my creativity, no plugins no computers and no outboard hardware, i'm talking just the mpc 1000 and a pair of headphones/ or studio monitors.

I know already about resampling the final audio for an inthe box mix down
but i'm lost regarding the eqing and mixing everything in the mp.
all of your knowledge and insight is much appreciated.


PostMon May 21, 2007 10:31 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Valued Member
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 11:33 am
Posts: 711
Location: australia
i posted a similar question a little while ago and didn't get too much response.

i've found it difficult to get totally satisfactory mixes straight out the box.
the eq's are ok, but they're not very intuitive. and to really fix up all your
mix you have to re-sample things, which means that the eq settings you
used for your re-sample on the hats line may not match once you've
compressed and eq'd the kick etc etc.

so really, my advice (and the advice i was given when raising the same q)
is to mix in your DAW and then re-sample sounds and work from there.

you can get ok mixes tho... don't let my pessimism stop you trying! :)
i've found since i've been runnin my MP using the individual outs and going
into a mixer my sounds have gotten better.

let us know how you go, what methods you try etc. be keen to hear
the results.

cheers


PostTue May 22, 2007 10:26 am
 Profile Send private message  
 
Member
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 07, 2006 11:06 pm
Posts: 169
to bad the 1000 doesnt got one eq for every track, if jj could get that it would be the ultimate fix for me. i guess it wouldnt be to hard to do all the mixing inhouse


PostTue May 22, 2007 7:27 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Valued Member
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 29, 2006 11:33 am
Posts: 711
Location: australia
yeah that'd be sweet. there's been talk of that, but not sure if it'll happen.
limited space for the OS y'know?


PostWed May 23, 2007 7:42 am
 Profile Send private message  
 
Member
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 10, 2007 12:41 am
Posts: 186
Location: Los Angeles
thanks for the responses, I hope jj can make it happen, do you guys know if the mpc 2500 has eq on each track?


PostWed May 23, 2007 9:04 am
 Profile Send private message  
 
Expert Member
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2005 12:16 pm
Posts: 3450
Location: UK
It can be done but as others said eq on each track would be great.

I prefer to EQ out of the MPC though. I'm just used to EQ'ing in Pro-Tools and Cubase.


PostWed May 23, 2007 3:58 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic
Share This Topic:     Share on Facebook     Send to Stumbleupon      

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
Stay Connected!
Twitter Facebook Youtube Newsletter
MPC Renaissance & MPC Studio Tutorials
More Info About MPC Renaissance & MC Studio: Sampling Laid Bare
MPC Software Tutorials
More...
MPC5000 Tutorials
More Info About Beat Making on the MPC5000
Get Tutorials For Your MPC5000
More...
MPC1000 Tutorials
More Info About Beat Making on the MPC1000
Get Tutorials For Your MPC1000
More...
MPC2500 Tutorials
More Info About Beat Making on the MPC2500
The MPC2500 BIBLE...
More...
MPC500 Tutorials
More Info About Beat Making on the MPC500
Quickly Master Your MPC500
More...
MPC2000XL Tutorials
More Info About Beat Making on the MPC2000XL
The ultimate MPC2000XL resource!!!
More...