Akai MPC Discussion Forums


Post new topic Reply to topic           Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 21  Next
Author Message
Advanced Member
Akai MPC-500
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 8:39 pm
Posts: 118
Location: BXL
It looks like Akai will introduce the MPC-500 very soon.
Apparently Numark is setting up the web page right now!

Click here: MPC-500


PostMon Jul 10, 2006 1:19 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Expert Member
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2004 8:44 pm
Posts: 9989
Location: fairfax, VA
why would they make it mpc500.com?

i'm curious as to what this thing will be like. it could be kinda cool. i probably wont buy it cuz i just plain don't need it...but it's an interesting thought. i wonder what its compatability will be.

wakai's got an mpc for all seasons now, damn. too bad they all have so many bugs.

_________________
un, dos, tres, toca la pared

--> edge city, 2006, at http://nymantics.com <--


PostMon Jul 10, 2006 1:26 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Expert Member
Offline

Joined: Sun May 29, 2005 5:48 pm
Posts: 2829
:lol: :lol: .................................. :( :cry:


PostMon Jul 10, 2006 1:32 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Advanced Member
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 8:39 pm
Posts: 118
Location: BXL
Antonym wrote:
why would they make it mpc500.com?


Numark owns Akai and registered this URL. Why?
I'd assume they are planning to put a website there.

They did not register mpc5000.com...


PostMon Jul 10, 2006 1:36 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Expert Member
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:39 pm
Posts: 679
Antonym wrote:
why would they make it mpc500.com?

Cause they wanna be ahead of JJ :lol:

http://whois.domaintools.com/mpc500.com

_________________
Image


PostMon Jul 10, 2006 1:48 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Expert Member
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 30, 2004 3:46 pm
Posts: 3522
Location: Queens New York
cowbell wrote:
Antonym wrote:
why would they make it mpc500.com?

Cause they wanna be ahead of JJ :lol:

http://whois.domaintools.com/mpc500.com







Maybe........................

_________________
(SCIZZORHANDZ!! MYSPACE ADD ME) Beats ARE UP!!!!!!
http://www.myspace.com/mr_scizzorhandz

3RD OPTIC's TOP 30 FREEWARE PTI
http://www.mpc-forums.com/viewtopic.php ... #325648THE

MY DIGGIN' CLIP....
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bPMcy3t1Qbc


PostMon Jul 10, 2006 2:18 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Expert Member
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 3:55 am
Posts: 1833
Location: Greensboro, NC
interesting. now click here: http://akaiproamerica.com


PostMon Jul 10, 2006 2:22 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Advanced Member
Offline

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 8:39 pm
Posts: 118
Location: BXL
pad-ophiliac wrote:
interesting. now click here: http://akaiproamerica.com


Your point being...?


PostMon Jul 10, 2006 2:59 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Expert Member
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:07 am
Posts: 5861
Location: New York
cowbell wrote:
Antonym wrote:
why would they make it mpc500.com?

Cause they wanna be ahead of JJ :lol:

http://whois.domaintools.com/mpc500.com

or maybe the roland sp-404. i have a feeling it's gonna be more buggy than the last 3 mpcs made under nukai.

Nukai - quit making new products until you can take care of what you have on the market already. Does the word BUG FIX mean anything???? Marketing hype and new products will not compensate for three machines that crash like fuccin Windows98!!! :arrow:


PostMon Jul 10, 2006 3:31 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Expert Member
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2005 3:55 am
Posts: 1833
Location: Greensboro, NC
r.5 wrote:
pad-ophiliac wrote:
interesting. now click here: http://akaiproamerica.com


Your point being...?


my point being that they link to the same place. mpc-500 could stand for anything but akaiproamerica shows relevence.


PostMon Jul 10, 2006 3:32 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Expert Member
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:39 pm
Posts: 679
http://www.mpc3500.com/
Soooo, MPC3500 it is..?!

These are other domains registered by Numark and hosted on the same server:
http://www.akaiproamerica.com/
http://www.akaiprollc.com
http://www.fit4sound.com/
http://www.fitforsound.com/
http://www.milestones2006.com/
http://www.virtualvinyl.net/

_________________
Image


PostMon Jul 10, 2006 3:50 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Expert Member
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 22, 2005 4:07 am
Posts: 5861
Location: New York
cowbell wrote:
http://www.mpc3500.com/
Soooo, MPC3500 it is..?!

These are other domains registered by Numark and hosted on the same server:
http://www.akaiproamerica.com/
http://www.akaiprollc.com
http://www.fit4sound.com/
http://www.fitforsound.com/
http://www.milestones2006.com/
http://www.virtualvinyl.net/

yup.... more marketing hype. less customer support. ;)

Image


Last edited by distortedtekno on Mon Jul 10, 2006 5:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.

PostMon Jul 10, 2006 4:24 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Expert Member
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Dec 03, 2004 10:46 pm
Posts: 1789
Location: Coventry, UK
I'm not convinced, i'll believe it when i see it...

Although a battery powered SP-404 rival would be nice.


PostMon Jul 10, 2006 5:04 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Expert Member
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jun 28, 2004 6:39 pm
Posts: 679
Spirez wrote:
I'm not convinced, i'll believe it when i see it...

Are you not convinced Wakai registered these domains?
http://whois.domaintools.com/mpc500.com
http://whois.domaintools.com/mpc3500.com

Whether or not they are actually gonna produce these Bug-Bringing-Beta-Boxes is another thing.

_________________
Image


PostMon Jul 10, 2006 5:15 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Expert Member
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 9:13 pm
Posts: 10155
Location: work still...
to be honest, i think these companies register these misspelled domain names and several differnt domains for commonly mispelled words. maybe a lot of people were typing mpc500 instead of 2500 so they figured they'd open a domain with just 500 for people who type it wrong. and it will redirect you to the correct site?

also with that mpc3500.com thing, the number 3 is right next to the 2. your finger could slip and hit the 3 instead of 2. it may happen a lot, so they open a domain with 3500 for people who mispell 2500?

i dont know.....just a thought


PostMon Jul 10, 2006 5:20 pm
 Profile Send private message  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic
  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 ... 21  Next

You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum

Jump to:  
MPC1000 Tutorials
More Info About Beat Making on the MPC1000
Get Tutorials For Your MPC1000
More...
MPC2500 Tutorials
More Info About Beat Making on the MPC2500
The MPC2500 BIBLE...
More...
MPC500 Tutorials
More Info About Beat Making on the MPC500
Quickly Master Your MPC500
More...
MPC2000XL Tutorials
More Info About Beat Making on the MPC2000XL
The ultimate MPC2000XL resource!!!
More...