Technical questions for the MPC2000xl and the MPC2000
By AoyamaJPN Tue Aug 09, 2011 6:34 pm
so, i load up samples, edit, and make a program and a beat. i save all programs and sounds. i then save all sequences.

but, for example, when i load the programs and sequences, the sample which i have changed pitch and other params like from note off to mono, aren't saved. so, when i play my loaded sequence, it's all off.

what am i missing? why when I save all programs and sounds, it's not saving the most recent params. it's like it's reverting to the params when it was first loaded.

thanks!
By Phulk Wed Aug 10, 2011 11:47 am
When you edit samples you have loaded up (not actually sampled) you will need to replace existing sounds when saving the APS file!
If you work with loop points on a sample, you wont be able to change from Note Off to Mono/Poly.
Loop information will be saved in the SND/WAV file itself, same as when you manipulate pitch and other parameters
in trim screen.
Parameters you have changed in Program screen will be saved to PGM/APS files, but if there are conflicts with the samples
informations you can get strange results.

Hope this helps to fix it..
By AoyamaJPN Wed Aug 10, 2011 3:27 pm
thanks for the reply. when saving, i choose "replace", but something is off. i will try some things and come back to it. i haven't been diligent in file naming and maybe some conflicts arise because of that. thanks again
User avatar
By mumkai Wed Sep 28, 2011 9:55 am
do you have a MPC 2000 or XL? what are you saving to? Zip? CF? external HD? i ask because my work around requires folders and free disk space. im pretty sure the 2000 and certain media doesnt support folders, but i could be off.

note - i organize all my beats by folder

this same thing happened to me but only when I was revising a beat and wanted to save over my old files. this would require replacing the sounds, .ALL and .APS/.PGMS files. even though it would replace the sound files and sequence data fine, like you my params werent being updated at all.

so, now dont even replace the old folder. save what you have like you would a new beat i.e 1st beat is "Beat1", revision would be "BEAT2." yes you have two of the same beats on disk and once revision is all saved you can delete the first folder (Beat1).

hope this helps and makes sense... its late...


good luck!