Technical questions for the MPC2000xl and the MPC2000
By antifaz Mon Jan 20, 2014 11:28 pm
Hi!

I am going to hook up my MPC 2000xl 8 outs to a Focusrite Saffire Pro 40 audio interface.

Before i buy cables I want to make sure I get the right ones.
As I understand the 8 outs are "unbalanced" on the MPC and I'm pretty sure the inputs of the Focusrite are "balanced" (I read somewhere that most modern Interfaces have balanced inputs).

I also read that the best thing to get when going from unbalanced outs to balanced inputs are TRS (balanced) cables. To reduce signal noises or some stuff? Is this true?

I have no experience of what types of cables you should/can have, so help is much appreciated.

Also I have a Phono Preamp which I will connect between my Turntable and the MPC. So from the preamp to the MPC:s "record inputs", I should have some kind of RCA to XLR/TRS? All of these things gets me really confused, XLR, TRS, Balanced, Unbalanced, Stereo, Mono etc... I'm lost.

Help a brother out so I can make these beats!! / Jonatan
By SimonInAustralia Mon Jan 20, 2014 11:33 pm
antifaz wrote:I also read that the best thing to get when going from unbalanced outs to balanced inputs are TRS (balanced) cables. To reduce signal noises or some stuff? Is this true?

No, since the outputs of the MPC are unbalanced, TRS-TRS cables will not give the benefits of a balanced to balanced connection, just use TS-TS cables.

antifaz wrote:Also I have a Phono Preamp which I will connect between my Turntable and the MPC. So from the preamp to the MPC:s "record inputs", I should have some kind of RCA to XLR/TRS? All of these things gets me really confused, XLR, TRS, Balanced, Unbalanced, Stereo, Mono etc... I'm lost.

As above, just use RCA-TS cables, or RCA-TS adapters on RCA cables.
By SimonInAustralia Sat Jan 25, 2014 4:21 pm
Yes, since the output that you are connecting to the MPC is unbalanced, from and RCA connector, there is no need to use a TRS connector into the MPC.