Technical questions for the MPC2000xl and the MPC2000
By Dan Jose Wed Aug 15, 2018 11:43 am
Hi Everyone,

There is not a lot of first hand accounts on here so I thought i would share what I have learned so far. Maybe if the hxc / gotek guys share how they use the usbs it will clear up a lot of confusion. I mean the mpc 2000 is a 21 year old computer so it is always going to be super limited, but I feel like the USB is actually a great feature. I just wanted to help clear things up for people and hopefully learn how other people use the usb emulator for themselves.

I recently bought my first mpc last week (A 2000 with 32ram, 8 outs, and the gotek emulator) I think it's the gotek emulator at least. It has the digital LCD screen that displays scrolling text and the two buttons for scrolling between disks. I'm new to all this but, right now i'm learning how to save and load. I didn't have to format the usb myself. The previous owner has been super helpful and he included the usb already ready to rock.

How I use it on mac osx:

THE USB and naming files
My usb is formatted in the old MAC32 format for floppy disks. It has the os boot file on it which has to be selected on the actual emulator to boot up properly. The usb it came with disk images in .hfe format that act as folders. On my usb they were named DSK0001 DSK0002 etc. etc. These are essentially 1.44mb floppy partitions. From what I understand, the OS on the mpc 2000 can't read more than that, which is why you can't save more than 1.44mb per disk image. You can copy and paste the DSK .hfe files in finder and rename them. So for example DSK_beats1 DSK_beats2 or however you want. You don't even need to keep the DSK i think.

Saving and Loading