Technical questions for the MPC2000xl and the MPC2000

By puke Mon Mar 24, 2003 9:43 pm
they do not make an internal zip drive for the standard 2000. you will have to buy an external zip drive with a scsi connection.

i bought a new one fron iomega.com.

peace.

By brainwashcloth Mon Mar 24, 2003 10:05 pm
since he was saying scsi i think he means external. i believe the 250 would work just like a zip100 scsi external does. just set the scsi id to 5 or 7 and plug it in and power them up. be sure to boot the mpc from your os floppy, then try to hit disk and change the device to scsi 5 or 7 whatever you set the zip to be and then see if it will let you format the zip disk.

By Baru Mon Mar 24, 2003 10:09 pm
brainwashcloth wrote: be sure to boot the mpc from your os floppy, then try to hit disk and change the device to scsi 5 or 7 whatever you set the zip to be and then see if it will let you format the zip disk.

could you explain this a bit further please? im new to all this

thanks a LOT!!

By Baru Mon Mar 24, 2003 10:20 pm
basically this is what i need to know:

there are 2 places in the back of the zip drive with outs. one has an on off switch next to it and the other has 5 & 6 on top. which one do i need to connect the mpc to and what are the settings i need? (5 or 6?)

i tried connecting it to the 5/6 output but when i turn on the mpc, it says 250 iomega scsi but it just sorta freezes on that screen. what am i doing wrong?

also when i turn on the mpc how do make it so that i dont need to use the OS from a floppy?

By brainwashcloth Mon Mar 24, 2003 10:26 pm