For discussion about setting up your studio and advice on the gear and equipment within it.
By ascloutier Wed Apr 28, 2021 3:05 pm
I'm new to music production and the MPC. My daughter and I are trying to play around and record some stuff but I'm not clear on what I really need. I'm looking for a basic setup with as few pieces as possible (within reason).

What we have:
    MPC Live 2 - (ordered) Hoping this can be the center of my setup
    Ukulele - We got a pickup for it.
    Casio Electronic Piano - Has USB Midi and Stereo (line?) out.
    Scarlett Solo - USB Audio interface (Not sure if this will work with the MPC live)
    Cheap condenser mic from Amazon (I know this needs +48v)

My daughter sings and plays Uke and Piano and I'm trying to learn beat making/sampling stuff. In my head, we feed the Uke, Mic and keyboard through a mixer and into the MPC.

Questions
Can I then record an entire song using the MPC or would it be better to pick up a portable recorder (like the Tascam DR-40x) to send out from the MPC for a final cut?

I'm not 100% clear on what needs to happen with the Ukulele if I put it through a mixer. Some of the mixers I'm looking at, such as this little Alesis Mixer, has a button on one of the inputs with a Guitar on it. Would this mixer be suitable for my stated needs of condenser mic, Uke and keyboard?

Do I need a DirectBox? Would anything make this setup easier?

Could I use the Tascam DR-40x I mentioned earlier as a portable microphone to connect directly to the MPC? Is there a better/easier mic that I could connect directly to the MPC if I'm not near my mixer?

Sorry for all the questions. Ultimately this is a hobby but I do have some money to spend on it. I don't want to go overboard but I'd like to try to do it correctly. Thanks for any help.
By NearTao Wed Apr 28, 2021 3:27 pm