For discussion about setting up your studio and advice on the gear and equipment within it.
By lilJollibee Tue Aug 17, 2021 10:32 pm
I am very new to all this music production stuff. I recently just bought an MPC2500, and have been enjoying it while just using it on it's own with the samples the person I bought it from had already included with it. I want to start using the MPC with my computer, but don't know where to start. I'm hoping you guys can point me in the right direction and give me some recommendations on what equipment I should get, preferably more towards the budget to mid-range side.

What I have right now:
Windows 10 Desktop PC
Akai MPC2500
Balanced Schiit Stack - Modius (DAC), Magnius (Amp)
Beyerdynamic DT 177x Go headphones with custom balanced 4-pin XLR cable
Rode NT-USB microphone

My PC and everything else is mainly used for live streaming and gaming right now, but now adding in music production to it. I'm looking to buy a mixer or audio interface, but not sure which one. I do plan on switching over to using an XLR microphone when I get a mixer or interface. I'm also planning on getting a turntable soon for sampling to the MPC2500, some studio monitors, and also using Ableton. Maybe adding in other instruments and gear later on in the future.

What equipment would you recommend I should get? I guess my main focus right now is getting my MPC2500 set up with my computer the best and cleanest way I can with a mixer or interface, while being able to add other things on later easily. Recommend me anything and everything.

Thank you!
By 6/8 Stanley Wed Aug 18, 2021 5:15 am
Sounds like you're doing things right, making programs with the samples in there and making some beats. Set up depends on what you want to do. If you don't know what you want that's OK too. It will come later. That box is a good teacher.