For discussion about setting up your studio and advice on the gear and equipment within it.

By Jaylow Wed Dec 04, 2002 12:49 am
Hey Guys,

I've had my MPC for only a month and its been a little frustrating.. Although, I can admit I have been learing more things about it and how to operate it better..  I plan to get a keyboard.. I want to know what brands to invest in and what brands to stay away from...  I just need a keyboard for good sounds like: violins, bass guitars, and deep bass, you know the spooky ill stuff.. I dont need the ones with a sequencer on them cuz the MPC is the sequencer... I looked at this Yamaha S-03 at Guitar Cntr. it was $499.. Okay I'm really not worried about a budget!!! Although, I'm not a fool..  I just would like for someone to give my some good advice on buying a keyboard for the MPC cuz I dont know to look for..  Also, I'm new to this MIDI stuff.. Will I need more add on's after the keyboard... I want to make hip-hop music.. What else is needed to produce?..  Okay, the MPC, a keyboard, then what?  Please someone take me under your wings...  

Respectfully,  Your
Apprentice,    Jaylow[/color]

By keyzfame Sun Dec 08, 2002 6:21 am
um lets think big homie. anything cheap only means you may need to spend more later on. lets make sure if you do spend some money you will have a smile on ya face for a  few years. i own a mpc and a motif. i feel when spending money on a keyboard its should be in the 1000 and up price range. it hurts the pockets butyou get so much more options and you wont feel like shit once you hear something you should went out and got if you wasnt so cheap![/color]

By goltooth Mon Dec 09, 2002 7:08 pm
Hi, choose a mutitimbral synth . I bought a Novation K station and I realize 2 octaves is short (it is not designed to be used as a main keyboard) and monotimbral is frustrating. Other wise it is a great piece of gear for creating sounds.[/color]

By Tribe O' Judah Fri Dec 13, 2002 7:58 pm