Post your questions, opinions and reviews of the MPC1000. This forum is for discussion of the OFFICIAL Akai OS (2.1). If you wish to discuss the JJ OS, please use the dedicated JJ OS forum
By JUKE 179r Sun Jan 05, 2020 8:51 pm
What is there to ask? video and that 2 Step Garage track is dope tho...
By NearTao Mon Jan 06, 2020 2:30 am
ShoopFroggyFrog wrote:Yo everybody, NewbFroggyFrog here. I have zero experience with sequencing midi. Can any one tell me anything about what the hell this is: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fa35jTdSbAM

:(

It's kind of like posting a video of somebody driving a Tesla and saying "I have no experience with automobiles". We don't know what you know, or what you want to learn.

To break it down into a few levels
* They are playing loops and some parts live
* All the gear (that is turned on) is in sync... as you surmised it is probably through MIDI
* Some very good sequencing... but hard to tell what devices are playing what jobs
* Effort was put in to make components of the set interactive
* No idea which part is the "brain", but I am going to guess it is Ableton Live doing the heavy lifting

I'm assuming you're posting this in the MPC1000 forum because there's clearly an MPC1000 in the video, but I didn't see him doing anything with it other than tap out a few drum hits from time to time. You could certainly produce a track like this on the MPC, but I'm quite confident that Ableton and maybe the Octatrack are doing most of the heavy lifting here.

All that said... what would you like to know? :)
By ShoopFroggyFrog Mon Jan 06, 2020 8:03 am
Near Tao,

That was a superb response. I apologize for being vague. I guess what I really want to know is how you all would suggest I go about learning how to get the 1K to play back drums and also automate an external synth bass and another keyboard. Sorry everyone, I feel so wack. :|
By NearTao Mon Jan 06, 2020 12:44 pm
The best advice I can give is to start small.