New to the MPC production world? Got a music production question that's not really specific to any particular MPC? Try your luck here and get help from our experienced members.
By angeloalves495 Tue Feb 14, 2017 6:47 pm
hi there

I am total newb regarding mpc's and my question is not which one is better but instead why should I get one over the other and vice versa. Simplicity of operating it, capability and sound quality are my priorities so if you please could share your thoughts about this subject that would be a huge help.

many thanks
By MalaKai Thu Mar 02, 2017 10:48 pm
Having used both, my own personal opinion leans more toward 1000 w/ JJOS over 2000XL.

While the 2000XL is a classic and a good learning machine and has a better build and slightly punchier sound, it suffers from several drawbacks:

- Storage options are more limited. If you go the CF route you're limited to 2GB so if you work on a lot of projects with lots of sounds you'll need to constantly backup to a PC, other storage space.

- It is SLOW. To preview sounds the machine needs to load them first, and this can make your workflow suffer primarily if you're in the zone and have multiple ideas for song structure/melody in your head and you're looking for the right sounding drums, etc.

- Did I mention that it's slow? Resampling anything longer than a half second drum hit can literally take an hour or two.

- No global program edit. If you want all your sounds within a program tuned the same way you have to manually (one by one) change them to match.

- The screens tend to die. Luckily MPC-STUFF has new screens, but if you're buying a used old 2000XL prepare to make that extra investment. Somewhere down the line the original screen will give out.