New to the MPC production world? Got a music production question that's not really specific to any particular MPC? Try your luck here and get help from our experienced members.
By Big Monk Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:16 pm
I am looking to become a hobbyist. I am musically inclined (Guitar player, music lover/listener), mechanically and electronically inclined (computer savvy, DIY electronics, soldering, etc.), have a sizable vinyl and digital music collection (500+ Jazz, Rock, Blues, Soul records and 10,000 plus music files and CDs), and am inspired specifically and most intensely by early to mid 90s NY Underground Hip Hop (Premier, PR, Illmatic, Boot Camp, Wu, Gang Starr, etc.).

I am an electrical engineer by trade and have the confidence to take any advice and apply it.

I’m looking for advice on a setup consisting of an MPC unit or Roland MV8800 plus a turntable for sampling and the ability to record live instruments.

I am neophyte when it comes to specific pieces of equipment and would need advice on what is required for what I describe above, including a turntable.

Any suggestions welcome.
By saltmcgault Thu Apr 18, 2019 2:09 am
do you have a record player? do you have a computer? how serious are you? how much are you willing to spend on a mpc? have any friends that have a mpc maybe check thiers out and see if it’s something you like.
By Big Monk Thu Apr 18, 2019 3:15 am
saltmcgault wrote:do you have a record player? do you have a computer? how serious are you? how much are you willing to spend on a mpc? have any friends that have a mpc maybe check thiers out and see if it’s something you like.

I have a record player, but not one of sufficient quality for this application.