New to the MPC production world? Got a music production question that's not really specific to any particular MPC? Try your luck here and get help from our experienced members.
By Cole0720 Fri Sep 04, 2020 4:33 pm
I just bought my first MPC (the MPC One). I've been recording electronic music for about 13 years now, so I'm not a stranger to installing midi controllers, but I've already sunk five hours into this and can't seem to get this device to pair. Hoping somebody can help.

I successfully updated my MPC One's firmware to 2.8.1. I followed the installation steps (correctly selected MPC One) and am able to run the latest version of the software on my laptop just fine. The MPC is connected to my laptop via USB, and it is in controller mode. However, once I run the software, the MPC just sits at the "looking for computer" screen. I can even play the pads and clearly see the software pads light up - so it is receiving the signal fine. Has anyone encountered this? I've seen some other threads that just trail off with the issue never being fixed. I am running Windows 10.

This seems like a bug and I'm not sure how to get around it. I've uninstalled everything and reinstalled three times. I tried to call Akai, and I waited on hold for a total of 1 hour and 10 minutes before eventually conceding there is likely no one even at their office right now due to Covid. Not the best opening experience with this product tbh :/
By Cole0720 Fri Sep 04, 2020 5:04 pm
MPC-Tutor wrote:Yes this comes up a lot, a search should yield many possible solutions, such as 'try a different USB cable', 'try a USB 2.0 port or hub', 'uninstall and re-install the drivers'.

Missing info: What computer OS are you running.