New to the MPC production world? Got a music production question that's not really specific to any particular MPC? Try your luck here and get help from our experienced members.
By cleansocks Sun Feb 14, 2021 9:51 pm
... on an MPC , for me i am new to this only got my a little less than a year ago but I sense that it's really hard to make a trap / drill beat on an MPC compared to a laptop. I just wann see if thats something any one else feels the same about. I been doing a lot of sample based and boom bap type stuff and for me thats way easier on a 4000 or any kind of MPC , but the fast modern beats i just find so hard to do on the mpc.. at least on mine (the 4000) you lack the fast element of just dragging sounds / loops over an empty pattern like FL studio. shit takes forever to find a sound, load a sound, get the sound you want to sound just right with your other sounds. And then you have to record it into a pattern and copy that pattern x5 x6 times to add different variants to all the elements you got going on in your song (hi hat, bass - glide, kick, snare) as opposed to dragging and clicking on a laptop. I guess this turned more into a rant but I'd like to know if anyone feels like this and if you don't maybe share some tips you have because the MPC workflow with these modern type beats isn't cuttin it for me
By Cockdiesel Sun Feb 14, 2021 10:44 pm
Trap beats are pretty easy.... note repeat on the high hats, kick and snare, one or two chords. It’s pretty simple stuff.

I’d suggest starting at 150, 8 bars, laying down high hats at 1/8th notes, making a melody then putting your kick and snare in to taste. Double up the sequence and erase some high hats and make 1/16th and 32nd note rolls based on the flavor you want. There’s no way dragging and dropping is as fun or even that much quicker.
You just got to find a work flow that works for you. It’s really not much different than making boom bap.
Do you have a keyboard hooked up to your MPC?