New to the MPC production world? Got a music production question that's not really specific to any particular MPC? Try your luck here and get help from our experienced members.
By jimmy Recard Tue Aug 31, 2021 4:10 am
Hello,

I've spent just short of 4 hours trying a billion Software settings and Hardware cabling etc and online research and Still can't figure it out...

I have a Lexicon Alpha (Pretty sure it's the Alpha Studio - it says LEXALPHAV underneath)

I want to use it with my Windows 8.1 PC.

Up until now I've just used a basic built in VIA HD Sound device (part of the Gigabyte MOBO) which the computer normally uses (yes - No proper soundcard) - and I tried plugging this in but I'm really confused...

I used to record/mix heaps so I'm not a complete noob - but I've always used internal soundcards on a prior computer. I'm not sure how things work with an external one?

I can't figure out how exactly I'm suppose to set all the windows settings and plug things in/out with cables to be able to use my PC like normal - eg hear like normal - that is hear all the sounds on the computer AND the sounds I'm inputting.

I should point out that I'm talking about MIDI and Actual Audio (eg from a mic or line in).

So for example - I need it set up like normal - so I can use my Akai MPK Mini MK3 in the MPC Beats software (Free Mini DAW or Ableton etc) and be able to play/hear/record MIDI - AS WELL AS being able to hear audio from the PC - eg music playing via Spotify software/VLC or maybe I want to keep switching screens between a Youtube Tutorial video and back and forth to the MPC Beats or Ableton etc trying to replicate the Video Tutorial?

But when I try using the Alpha - I can't get it to work like normal?

AT one point I could hear the MIDI in the MPC Beats - but then I couldn't hear any PC sounds?