New to the MPC production world? Got a music production question that's not really specific to any particular MPC? Try your luck here and get help from our experienced members.
By Tomás From Wed Nov 03, 2021 1:22 pm
Hello everyone,

I am a composer looking for my first MPC. I mostly use my computer to write music and I was wanting the MPC to be more like a musical instrument to jam with and come up with ideas.

I think the experience with modern MPCs can be quite similar to working on a DAW and I was wanting to get out from that workflow a little bit so I have been looking at the older models.

I am still not sure if I will like using the MPC as I've never used one, so I was wanting to get one of the more affordable models. I also want it to be portable.

That made me arrive at the conclusion that 1000 could be a good option, maybe 2500 as well. What are your thoughts?

Also, I'm not used to working with 'old' technology, so could someone explain me how the samples management work with these machines? Are they just stored in a card and I can move the files through USB from my Macbook?

Anything else to keep in mind? As I said I'm new in this world, so any tips are appreciated!

Best,
By DokBrown Wed Nov 03, 2021 3:30 pm
A] If you want a modern experience, you MUST get the FORCE or MPC ONE.
The FORCE just a came a long way, but I’m not qualified to speak on it b/c I only have the MPC LIVE. The FORCE is like ableton LIVE while the MPC is more for old-school linear arrangement [Cubase, LOGIC].

B] If you just want MIDI & basic sampling, get a MPC1000 with JJOS
Much smaller learning curve but nothing like a DAW

Do some advanced searches here

MPC COMPARISON FORUM FORUM
viewforum.php?f=24
By NearTao Wed Nov 03, 2021 5:00 pm