New to the MPC production world? Got a music production question that's not really specific to any particular MPC? Try your luck here and get help from our experienced members.
By MamboDiablo Sun May 21, 2023 7:53 am
Hi Everyone,
I'm new to the MPC one. Purchased one off a friend in mint condition for a great price and intend to use it for both live performance (first priority) and then recording and production later on as I build my own content and samples etc. I play trumpet, percussion (congas, djembe etc), and didjeridu and my intention is to develop a sort of tribal techno set using the MPC one + a mixer combo as the core. However, I also have a boss rc505 looper which is more fluid than the MPC for live looping, and some friends have various hardware such as drum machines and modular synths that we intend to incorporate.

I already have a yamaha mg12xu mixer (in mint condition so I could sell it easily) but the main drawback of this mixer is the USB interface is the 2 ch stereo master bus only. Clearly a huge limitation when using the MPC, The two preferred mixers are of course the tascam model 12 and soundcraft mkt12. The advantage of the soundcraft are the additional stereo input and the 3rd aux send. I run the boss rc505 as an aux send/return (which thus takes advantage of better quality pre-amps and more inputs). The MKT12 would thus allow for another aux/send, but... the extra stereo ch is unbalanced line only.

I have read elsewhere on this forum the sound quality of the MKT12 isn't as good as the tascam. My question is this.... is the difference really THAT noticeable that it becomes a deal breaker? Tascam also has the advantage of two inserts + compression on all channels. Looks better build quality and portability too.

Any advice/suggestions to a newbie much appreciated. I realize this question has been covered before but everyone has a different set-up. Thx for your understanding :-)
By MamboDiablo Sun May 21, 2023 12:22 pm