New to the MPC production world? Got a music production question that's not really specific to any particular MPC? Try your luck here and get help from our experienced members.
By Saurabh Wed Feb 21, 2024 6:25 am
Hello there, I am an ultra beginner with akai, mpc, and music. trying to get bearings right.
Can someone please explain me difference between Program, Preset, Project, Sequence, Sample

I know it is very basic. but I am stuck at basics only.

thanks in advance
By MPC-Tutor Wed Feb 21, 2024 7:48 am
This is actually explained quite well in the user guide. If you haven't already downloaded it, the first section of (page 12 onwards) contains an overview of the main MPC concepts:

https://cdn.inmusicbrands.com/akai/M22D ... 2.11.7.pdf

Check that out and if you have any specific questions, let us know.
By Saurabh Thu Feb 22, 2024 6:31 am
is this correct understanding?

a project has sequences.
a sequences has tracks.
a track uses program to play itself.
a sample is a sound that can be assigned to any key or pad.
user records a track.
what is a preset?
By MPC-Tutor Thu Feb 22, 2024 8:10 am
Yes, basically you have to assign a program to a track so that you can play/record performances on that track. So if you want to record a plugin performance (e.g. a sub bass from Hype synth) set the track to 'plugin' and assign an instance of Hype to the program on that track.

Presets are used within plugins to load up a specific group of settings to give you a specific sound (you could also call them 'patches'). For example, the tubesynth plugin has various bass presets, pads, leads, etc. Most plugins have many presets built in, you just select them from the dropdown in the plugin itself, but you can also create and save your own, or load additional presets from the browser.
By Saurabh Sat Feb 24, 2024 4:59 am
some programs only play music on pad, some only on keys, some on both. is this correct?

what is a 'kit' type program? what is 'melodic' type program?