Exchange tips and tricks for the Akai MPC4000
By repeatle Mon May 18, 2009 10:08 am
Hello,

I've searched this forum and other places for help. Still, I can't find anything regarding WHERE to install the RAM.
I can't find the slots for it. I opened the top of the 4000 (that side where all the pads etc are located). Didn't help.
I guess you should open it from the bottom, right? There's so many screws and not that easy to understand which ones
to remove. Any help would be much appreciated!

I'm not a MPC noob, but I've never tried the 4000 before. I've had five (!) MPC-1000's and I still got two of them.

Thanks a lot,

Andreas
By Mark Price Fri Jun 05, 2009 11:14 am
Hi guys,

I've bought 2x256 Kingston CL2 256 non-ECC on ebay (HERE) but when i've tried to put them in the 4k, it says that there's only 272 Mb installed eventhought the 2 bars were inside each slot and there is distortion on the samples.

I don't know if there's a problem with the memory or why my MPC specificaly?

PS : excuse my poor english, I'm french.

Thanks for your advice.
Last edited by Mark Price on Fri Jun 05, 2009 11:58 am, edited 1 time in total.
By Mark Price Fri Jun 05, 2009 11:34 am
The bars I've bought are this ones : HERE but I've read on this forum that the correct reference is KVR133X64C2/256 or my bars have this refernce : KVR100X64C2/256.

Do you think it can be the reason why the bars aren't working?

I've forgotten to mention that my 4k was from the first series sold as I bought it in may 2002. Maybe it's the reason of the problem?
By adrian Fri Jun 05, 2009 7:27 pm
Mark Price wrote:The bars I've bought are this ones : HERE but I've read on this forum that the correct reference is KVR133X64C2/256 or my bars have this refernce : KVR100X64C2/256.

Do you think it can be the reason why the bars aren't working?

I've forgotten to mention that my 4k was from the first series sold as I bought it in may 2002. Maybe it's the reason of the problem?