Exchange tips and tricks for the Akai MPC4000
By Dillionaire_ Thu Jul 23, 2020 10:52 pm
Hello I'm somewhat new to MPC's and I've been reading the manuals and leaning the basics over the last 6 months. I started with a MPC4000, since I've had it its been great. Last night I was jamming and trying to finally piece together my small studio with a few machines.

I have been loading in samples from a USB stick without problems until now, when I woke up today and started to jam on the MPC, almost all samples on my USB stick are distorted as hell. Some samples work and others no, its confusing the shit out of me because yesterday it was all working piece of cake.

I've tried to reset to factory settings, I've reset the system clock at 44.1khz. I cant really see what else I can do in the OS to fix the problem. I experienced something similar when I thought I could load in 8 bit samples from the internet and got a similar sound when auditioning in the load screen. To me it feels like the bit rate is all **** up but honestly I don't know, knowing my luck with gear it will be a lemon.

I will pull the thing apart today and clean everything but before I do that has anyone experienced this?
I will try taking the RAM in and out for tests too, I saw that somewhere and looked like a good idea.

Thanks guys.
By Lampdog Thu Jul 23, 2020 11:51 pm
Try reseating ram. When ram goes bad or is not seated correctly you get random distortion in samples since those samples are IN ram.
By Lampdog Fri Jul 24, 2020 1:14 am
Post again when you figure it out.
Maybe someone else can learn from it.
By Dillionaire_ Fri Jul 24, 2020 4:03 am
Lampdog wrote:Post again when you figure it out.
Maybe someone else can learn from it.

I've taken the ram out, swapped it to the other side, cant read it, seems the stick is not clipping in well to its mount either.

I've taken the ram out entirely and re-booted since no matter what I do its only showing the 16mb internal storage on the motherboard.