Exchange tips and tricks for the Akai MPC4000
By Renich Mon Jul 24, 2006 3:29 pm
Guys, I think this is a wise proposal. Akai would save themselves a lot of trouble if they made the OS open source.

It would give us the chance (to those who know programming) to improve the software and make it bug free!

How is that? Is there anybody here who could take care of such a task?

I can offer webspace (SourceForge can too) and testing time. I could also translate things from english to spanish.

Any volunteers?

By illiac Mon Jul 24, 2006 4:05 pm
If the source were available I would volunteer some labor. I'm an experienced programmer.
-illiac

By adrian Mon Jul 24, 2006 4:05 pm
There are plenty of other OS threads. Don't start more.

By Renich Mon Jul 24, 2006 4:11 pm
whoa! thanks illiac.

Sorry adrian, but this could be the start of a petition to akai so we can open source the OS, or at least develop our own, based on akai standards. This would be great.

By diegoeskryptic Mon Jul 24, 2006 6:56 pm
hmm.. i def think its something akai would consider,, but its too early in the game to tell what they would do.. i think at the death line of each machine, they should do such a thing..

such as the mpc 60, 3000, 2000, etc, etc.. all the other stuff is new.. but for the older machines, hell yeah. The user base is huuuuge.

Great idea Ren...

By Renich Mon Jul 24, 2006 7:09 pm
Thanks a lot for the comments.

Well, this will only stay as an idea if we don't start moving. I would like to ask everyone to consider and sign yourself in this thread so we can make this proposal official.

If you know anybody that would be interested, please, tell them to join the thread and then, we can make a proposal to akai.

Thank you in advance.

Remember, we don't need programmers only, we need beta testers, translators, ideas, contributors, etc.

Our only goal should be to improve the software and, therefore, our music.

By illiac Mon Jul 24, 2006 8:15 pm