Forum to discuss all matters relating to the MPC1000 and MPC2500 operating systems created by 'JJ' (all versions).
By TonyHC Sat Aug 22, 2020 8:42 pm
Hi,
i have recently purchased an MPC 2500 with JJOSXL 3.69 installed. I am a complete noob in music production and seems that it is more easy for me to folllow instruction of the original Akai OS. How can I go back to Akai OS? Do I have to purchase a new password for JJOSXL 3.69 in case i would like to install it again after trying Akai os?
My MPC (has original Akai 128mb ram and 2gb cf card) is laggy when i navigate through menus and options, i already tried to disconnect cd rom and hdd (it is a 128gb ssd) but i got no improvements...is it normal with JJOSXL?
Thanks
By Menco Mon Aug 24, 2020 5:08 am
Hold the Tap Tempo button when switching on the MPC. You then get the option to boot up the free JJOS. It’s very, very similar to the Akai OS, but way more stable. You can find your way around the free JJOS by using the Akai manual. You won’t loose acces to JJOSXL by switching back. One you want to go back to XL version just hold the Tap Tempo again while booting.

Don’t know what would be the reason your MPC is lagging. But I’m almost a 100% sure it hasn’t have to do anything with SSD. The SSD is only active when saving and loading.
By TonyHC Thu Aug 27, 2020 11:34 am
Menco wrote:Hold the Tap Tempo button when switching on the MPC. You then get the option to boot up the free JJOS. It’s very, very similar to the Akai OS, but way more stable. You can find your way around the free JJOS by using the Akai manual. You won’t loose acces to JJOSXL by switching back. One you want to go back to XL version just hold the Tap Tempo again while booting.

Great, i will try it!
Thanks!
By TonyHC Thu Aug 27, 2020 11:38 am
Menco wrote:Don’t know what would be the reason your MPC is lagging. But I’m almost a 100% sure it hasn’t have to do anything with SSD. The SSD is only active when saving and loading.