Reviews and questions about the entry-level MPC500
By qrntt Fri Nov 09, 2012 2:27 am
Hi,

I bought a MPC 500 four months ago, but didn't have the time to play around with it until the last couple of weeks. I'm a complete noob, but I'm reading through the manual and really want to learn how to properly use the MPC. Unfortunately I'm having a hard time following the manual since my MPC behaves strangely in some situations.

The first problem I'm experiencing is that the overdub seems broken. If I record a sequence that has a series of drum beats, for example, the overdub plays badly afterwards. This doesn't happen everytime I try to record something, but happens quite often. I uploaded a video on youtube that shows this problem:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6yTAMBhpcew

The other issue I'm having is that while recording a performance, long samples keep cutting off. But when I press stop and play the performance, the samples play nicely:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uJVupJzG124

Like I said, I'm a noob. I tried to reset the MPC 500 but that didn't solve the problem. Any help from you guys would be much appreciated.
By mastasteez Fri Nov 09, 2012 7:11 pm
I think you got a dodgy unit.

I own a 500 and have done since the date I joined this forum with no probs whatsoever. I recently switched jobs and met a dude who has had similar probs to the ones you've described. He bought his in July. Has sent it back twice and they keep sending it back saying its fine.

I lent him him mine and he said its totally different to his which proves the unit is faulty.

I'll get him to check your videos and comment on if its the same problems. If so, that baby needs to go back. If bought brand new you get a years warranty (I think).
By qrntt Fri Nov 09, 2012 7:52 pm