Reviews and questions about the entry-level MPC500
By human fly Sat Jul 18, 2020 5:16 pm
hello folks, mpc500 newbie here, and am finding it mighty frustrating. got it a few weeks ago but haven't felt very motivated due to some aspects - i will go into that in due course. mainly, i expected things to be more fluid. some OS aspects are, but others not. my first main gripe was stiff pads - so now i'm just turning velocity off for the time being - and some awful pre-load sounds and sequence the previous owner had (argh), that i've just got rid of today. meh i was being lazy about digging up some sounds to put on a CF card, that kind of thing - which is mad, because i'm not new to samplers, and at last i can just plop some wavs on a card with the PC without proprietary formats and all that. so really i should be up to my elbows in it, but that hasn't happened yet.

what i'm looking for here is some expert guidance. normally i can find my way around a device pretty quickly without the manual, and this one isn't terribly complicated. i get how most of it works, but one or two things are still a bit of a mystery - namely saving your stuff and not losing your work ! i finally managed to get it to load up what i actually did before powering off today - but that's only because i did a 'save all' to the autoload folder. (grim sounds and dodgy sequence gone at last)

somehow i was failing to save something; whether it was the program, or the sequence (or song? or project?), most of which is user-error. i'm sort of getting there slowly (not without feeling like doing it some murdah a couple of times, cursing it and 'who designed this?!' )