Sub-forum for discussion about the DAWs and mobile apps that you use with your MPCs
By jsunandmax Thu Oct 08, 2020 7:52 am
Hello, i'm a newb and trying to figure out my workflow.
What I want to do is use my MPC One to workout the basic beats/tracks as a loop, then bring it into Ableton for final song composition.

So far, i have figured out I can save an .als as either midi or audio. Both export and load fine EXCEPT, with the midi, it does not send over the specific samples I used inside the Ableton. I have to 're-assign' the instruments on the Ableton side, and right now I dont even have all the same ones in my DAW that I do inside the MPC.

Is there a way to 1-shot send my .als WITH samples (kinda like when you save a Project file) over to Ableton?

Thanks in advance,
jason
By jsunandmax Sun Nov 08, 2020 3:15 am
so, FWIW, I figured out the problem. The MPC is not saving the samples into the /projectfolder/samples/imported.
It DOES save the files when you do a standard Akai project save, so simply select all the .wav in your Akai Projects/Projectname folder, and copy to that /imported folder for Ableton and it will find them when you load the .als in Ableton.

The only problem I still have, is I cannot seem to get them to display properly. Unlike a midi-track generated inside Ableton, i cannot get the grid view (with keyboard on left vertically) to edit the midi notes. If anyone knows how to solve this, greatly appreciated.
By jsunandmax Sun Nov 08, 2020 5:26 am
(posted on Ableton forum also, no response either)

PC, MPC One, Latest Ableton Live

I've been trying to solve this for weeks, hopefully someone can help me out.

When I export an .als from my MPC One, and load it into Ableton I have two problems:

1) Hit Play, all the meters move, but it doesn't play any sounds. It's like it lost all the samples. Adding the folder $Projectname/Samples/Incoming (where the samples are after the export) doesn't seem to do anything.