Bug reports & end-user support for Akai's MPC Software 'controllers' including the new MPC Studio 2, the MPC Touch, MPC Renaissance & original MPC Studio and MPC StudioB lack.
By mmgh Sat Mar 28, 2020 10:21 pm
Hi guys. What's up?

I recently started getting into making music again. I've used the hardware MPC's for ages (2000-2010). And used the Machine MK1 for about a year which I think was a very cheap device. It was too plasticky, the pads felt a bit cheapo and the rotary knobs were completely unusable after a while as they began to erratically changing parameters on their own. So I'm not too excited to get a MK3 or Studio, although on paper they sure look nice. I've also used the Octatrack for about 6 months and it is a hell of a step sequencer-sampler but eventually sold it because of a few key features it missed.
So I've had some experience with all of these things, and I always kind of missed the MPC workflow. The simplicity, you all know what I'm talking about. I'm sure! ;) I'm currently using Logic Pro X

There are a couple of newer MPC's on the market today. Unfortunately they all have big touch screens and that's not something I'm willing to put up with.
I have my eyes set on a second handed Renaissance atm. The hardware looks rock solid with an old school button heavy kind of workflow and I'm sure it sounds like a solid proper sampler.
However, I have literally no experience with Akai Software, except for the iMPC thing on the iPad which in all honestly is a terrible piece of software.
So I've been doing some Googling and I've been reading mixed stories about the reliability of Akai Software. What's great about these old samplers I've used (60, 3000, 4000, 5000) is the rock solid performance and tight responsiveness.