Share your knowledge on these two classic MPCs
By tvent Fri Feb 08, 2008 7:48 pm
Hi all,
Is there a way to address more than 128 different programs (patches) on an external midi device when using the MPC as your sequencer?

I'd never really paid this much attention until recently when trying to use my MPC with newer external keyboards and midi modules with WAAY more than 128 patches in them. Anyway to send LSB/MSB bank changes from the MPC so that the correct patches can be called up later when reloading a sequence saved from disk? Any workarounds?

I've not had much luck on this subject when searching so I thought maybe I should just post the question.

Thanks in Advance,
Tim

By Something Like That Fri Feb 08, 2008 9:35 pm
good question.

Too bad I'm not experienced enough to help you but I'm also looking forward to the answer as I'm encountering the same prob.
By mpc3000le Sat Feb 09, 2008 2:22 am
tvent wrote:Hi all,
Is there a way to address more than 128 different programs (patches) on an external midi device when using the MPC as your sequencer?

I'd never really paid this much attention until recently when trying to use my MPC with newer external keyboards and midi modules with WAAY more than 128 patches in them. Anyway to send LSB/MSB bank changes from the MPC so that the correct patches can be called up later when reloading a sequence saved from disk? Any workarounds?

I've not had much luck on this subject when searching so I thought maybe I should just post the question.

Thanks in Advance,
Tim

You'll need to address this type of patch selection via the MPC3000/MPC60 step editor and not the MAIN SCREEN PGM selector.

When in the MPC3000/MPC60 step editor; insert MIDI CONTROL CHANGE, BANK LSB, BANK MSB, NRPN, RPN messages and subsequent PROGRAM CHANGE commands as required per the "MIDI IMPLEMENTATION" documentation that comes with your respective synthesizer.

A well written example of this concept for some Roland machines can be found here: