Forum for all other samplers & synths such as Maschine, MVs, Akai S & Z series, Roland, Korg, OP-1, analog synths etc.
By Airyck Tue Jan 29, 2013 8:23 pm
Hi all,

I received a free Roland MC-909 that didn't work about 6 months ago.

On and off I studied the schematics and measure circuits and over time sourced and replaced dead components all in all spent about $20 on parts, but now it's fully functional :smoker:

So 2 weeks until the 1.3 update drops, I think I'll spend a little time with this thing and get to know it and see if it's worth incorporating into the setup.

Anybody use one before?
Any tips/tricks/links/experiences you'd like to share?

Cheers,
~Airyck~
By mr_debauch Tue Jan 29, 2013 9:55 pm
Airyck wrote:
Anybody use one before?
Any tips/tricks/links/experiences you'd like to share?

Cheers,
~Airyck~

no, but I always wanted one due to the sheer size of the thing. It seems fairly powerful too.
By Ian Canefire Tue Jan 29, 2013 10:38 pm
I have one...they are great but have a few problems. Good timing...one bad midi flaw in the OS.
It helps me make songs quick.

Send me a message if you need any help. I just learned a month or tow ago on Roland clan that it has midi USB. Embarrassingly I was telling the dude it didn't and he tried it and sure enough it did. The manual said nothing about that. So you can sysex and do lots to your DAW.
I dig it but the MPC controls it in my setup.

Cheers,
Ian

PS you are a lucky dog to get it for free. biggup!
By damien907 Wed Jan 30, 2013 1:11 am
thats dope! congrats man!

@ ian, ive never used one, but what midi flaw are you talking about?

or were you making a joke and i didnt get it? :oops:
By mr_debauch Wed Jan 30, 2013 4:29 am
Yeah what flaw? And for some reason, I seem to remember hearing about screen issues or something of that nature...

It looks kind of fun to play around with though I must say...

what are your opinions about fx? If you have ever messed with an MV, do they compare or rank similarly?