Share tips, tricks, gear set ups and videos relating to the use of MPCs in live performances including MPC finger drumming, MPC scratching, using MPCs with decks, computers and other instruments.
By nathanxjr Fri Feb 11, 2011 9:40 am
Due to health reasons I can no longer play acoustic drums. I need to find a high quality alternative. My question is would I be able to use a MPC unit in a real live band senario. I realise I will need alot of practice on the machine. But would the end result sound good in a live pub band senario. I have no experience with sampling machines and just need some advice. Thanks guys.
By dabmeister Fri Feb 11, 2011 12:10 pm
^^^ Is this health issue that bad to the point that you can't play anymore?
Last edited by dabmeister on Sat Feb 12, 2011 3:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
By Ill-Green Sat Feb 12, 2011 12:05 am
I know you're health issue is none of my business, but how does sitting down and banging away on acoustic drums differ from sitting down and banging away on an MPC?

Perhaps its back problems from lugging all those drums around, I don't know but thats a hell of a scenario. Most of us don't know how to play drums so thats how the MPC came in, but you're going opposite.

You know there's drum machines that can accommodate your drum skills without having to give up the sticks, even come with foot pedals to imitate bass drums. Yamaha and Roland got some goodies. Check their sites.
By chap23 Sat Feb 12, 2011 2:47 pm
nathanxjr wrote:Due to health reasons I can no longer play acoustic drums. I need to find a high quality alternative. My question is would I be able to use a MPC unit in a real live band senario. I realise I will need alot of practice on the machine. But would the end result sound good in a live pub band senario. I have no experience with sampling machines and just need some advice. Thanks guys.

I'm a drummer/bassist and i know what u mean about feeling gutted... :cry: