MPC Software & MPC Beats Forum: Bug reports, feature suggestions and discussion for the MPC Software and the free 'MPC Beats' application for Mac/PC. If you have hardware-specific questions, please post in the relevant MPC sub-forum.
By jezhall2 Thu Jan 14, 2021 12:42 pm
Hi. I am a newbie. I have been following the instruction videos on the MPC Beats Academy. Particularly this one for making house track:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nrjE2blCevY

My MPK Mini does not react in the same way as shown in the video. I want the to use PAD PERFORM to make the pads sound CHORDS as shown clearly in the video - but when I press the pads they only make single notes. When I use the mouse and click on the pads on-screen in the software, the Chords sound properly and you can see the keys making the chord. But when I press the physical pad only a single note is depressed on-screen and a single note sounds. This is not correct as the PAD PERFORM function is supposed to make the pads generate CHORDS. HELP!!
ALSO on this video the instructor uses the Q-LINK knob to zoom in and out of the viewpoint - when I turn my Q-LINK nothing happens.
Can you please help me ? This is quite a steep learning curve and I was really hoping the videos would help me, but when what is happening in the video does not match up to reality it is really hard to progress. Any advice welcome. Thank you. Jez.
By MPC-Tutor Thu Jan 14, 2021 1:07 pm
On normal keyboard controllers, pad perform is not available, it's normally only available from MPC pads on an actual MPC controller, but judging from the Akai video, it must be possible from the MPK pads as well. Have you configured your MPK as a global controller? You'll need to enable the MIDI Learn Browser (SHIFT CMD & L or use the icon at the bottom right of screen), hit ENABLE and select your MPK model. This should map everything correctly.
By jezhall2 Thu Jan 14, 2021 1:42 pm
Hi thanks for the reply - I will check that out, sounds likely.