Dedicated to all things DJing from gear, tricks, tips, mods, news and reviews
By KRXWNVXK Mon Apr 05, 2021 5:20 am
I'm new to the world of turntables. I just bought me a Audio Technica LP60X and I heard from a couple people if I upgrade the cartridge on it I will get a better sound out of it. I just wanted to know if this is true before my turntable comes in maybe I can order a better cartridge for it. And if so what are some good brands and models?
By NearTao Mon Apr 05, 2021 11:25 am
Cartridges are made for different characteristics. So you're probably going to want to explain more what you're looking to do, because sound quality is a factor for sure, but not necessarily the factor.

Most needles are meant to ride the groove of a record a certain way, and will give you a better sound, but due to the alignment of the needle will ruin a record if you plan on scratching. Other needles are designed so that they sit in the groove a certain way so that you can play records that are damaged and prone to skipping. Then you get into the class of needles that are more rounded and sit more perpendicular to the record so that you can use them for scratching without ruining the needle.

So a few things to describe would be:
* Do you plan on using the needle to scratch at all?
* Are you planning on playing records that are damaged or have specific types of damage?
* How much are you planning on playing a given album?
* Are you interested in archival purposes?
* How long do you expect the needle to last?
* Would you want just one all around good needle, or would you get needles for specific functions?