MPC X, MPC Live, MPC One & MPC Key 61 Forum: Support and discussion for the MPC X, MPC Live, MPC Live II, MPC One & MPC Key 61; Akai's current generation of standalone MPCs.
By dmacto Thu Oct 26, 2017 11:38 am
I have a an MPC Live on its way to me as we speak.

I am looking to use it completely Stand Alone for the time being.

I want to record Vocals, Live instruments etc into the Live, but due to it having no XLR inputs/Phantom Power/Mic Pre amps - I'm going to need an Interface of some sort.

I am a Noob when it comes to this side of things...So any help would be appreciated.

My friend has an "RME Fireface UCX" which I am able to use. As I understand it, its is a relatively high end Interface? Would this enable me to connect a condenser Mic to the Live?

Some of the functionality of the UCX seems to be accessible via software and in turn I am worried that it will be useless? I am hoping this is not the case, as It would save me a hell of a lot of money!

Does anyone have any experience with the UCX? Any suggestions? Ideas? Alternatives? for achieving my goal?

I am surprised that there is so little on YouTube regarding using the Live with a MIC.

Thanks
By Bassmonster Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:34 pm
Get you a portable rcorder like the Tascam DR-40. It runs on batteries and has a 1/8 inch phone output.
You will then need a 1/8 inch phone to dual 1/4 cable. Plug the 1/8 inch phone into the recorder and the dual 1/4 phone jacks into input of the MPC live. Make sure the input selector is on line. You can use the built in condenser microphones on the recorder or you can plug any mic into the bottom of the unit via 1/4 inch phone jacks or XLR. The recorder even has phantom power. That is how I do it.
By Lampdog Thu Oct 26, 2017 8:06 pm
There are many other way cheaper options besides an expensive (yes high end) ucx.

Focusrite
roland
tascam
presonus
mackie

are all good options where you can find cheaper stuff that will do the job too.

By dmacto Fri Oct 27, 2017 10:05 am