MPC X, MPC Live, MPC One & MPC Key 61 Forum: Support and discussion for the MPC X, MPC Live, MPC Live II, MPC One & MPC Key 61; Akai's current generation of standalone MPCs.
By VRN Wed Jul 10, 2019 7:22 pm
Hi I'm totally new to the MPC world and just recently purchased a "Live". From the reviews I got the impression, it can actually be (ab)used for composing rock songs. As a guitarist, I am happy it does most of what I don't, i.e. keys, bass and drums. Now doing some backing sequences, I want to add some cool rock bass and got slightly disappointed not to find a decent stock rock-bass sound onboard. I have seen the "Electric Bass" package here on the mother website, which might be the solution, but before deciding, I was wondering if anyone else has a good alternative idea(?). Maybe I just haven't looked in the right places, or maybe one of the other sounds can be tweaked to do a decent job? Anyway, I am not looking for perfect, but something not sound too electronic would be nice.
Thanks for any constructive comments and suggestions.
>V<
By MPC-Tutor Wed Jul 10, 2019 7:28 pm
The onboard sounds are pretty basic when it comes to instruments, to my knowledge my Electric Bass pack is the only MPC expansion available that features properly multisampled bass guitars optimised for the MPC Live/X. I keep meaning to create a rock demo for that pack, there's definitely plenty of suitable presets on it for rock.
By VRN Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:12 pm
Thanks for the speedy reply. I am happy to get the confirmation (although not surprised when coming from the man himself LOL). The sound demo for the pack is relatively convincing and I (also) have found nothing comparable yet. But if a rock demo is due anyway, I'd be happy to become fully convinced.
>V<
By VRN Wed Jul 10, 2019 8:21 pm
By the way, if the process of making the demo could be shared as a step-by-step video, that would be really cool.....
By VRN Sat Jul 13, 2019 11:48 am