MPC X, MPC Live, MPC One & MPC Key 61 Forum: Support and discussion for the MPC X, MPC Live, MPC Live II, MPC One & MPC Key 61; Akai's current generation of standalone MPCs.
By Lex303 Sun Mar 22, 2020 4:06 pm
Hi there,

I'm new with MPC, sorry for the noob questions.

How can I safely eject the SD card without to shut down the MPC One?
Is there a way to transfer samples via Ethernet to the SD card?

Thanks,
Lex303
By EnochLight Sun Mar 22, 2020 4:17 pm
Lex303 wrote:Hi there,

I'm new with MPC, sorry for the noob questions.

How can I safely eject the SD card without to shut down the MPC One?
Is there a way to transfer samples via Ethernet to the SD card?

Thanks,
Lex303

First of all, no matter what attached storage you're using - either SD Card, USB stick, or attached USB drive - you need to "eject" the storage from your MPC in the browser before removing them. To do so, go to your browser and select "Places" on the upper left. You'll get a list of all of your attached storage devices. Notice to the right of each attached storage device, you'll see a small "Eject" icon, that looks like the photo I've attached. Hit that. You'll be asked, "Are you sure you want to eject this drive?" Select "Eject" in the lower right. It will now disappear in your browser as an attached device, and it is safe to remove.

Failure to do this WILL result in a corrupted storage device, and you WILL lose projects, samples, and anything else stored on the device.

Pro tip: if you insert it into your computer to transfer data, make sure you eject it from your computer before removing it as well.

By DokBrown Tue Apr 27, 2021 6:54 pm
I didn’t realize you could eject while powered up. I was turning mine off everytime . . . .
By bitermc Wed Apr 28, 2021 8:17 am
NearTao wrote:If the MPC is off, then the drive is not mounted into the system.

You can safely remove a drive from the MPC when it is turned off.