MPC X, MPC Live, MPC One & MPC Key 61 Forum: Support and discussion for the MPC X, MPC Live, MPC Live II, MPC One & MPC Key 61; Akai's current generation of standalone MPCs.
By DCS Sat Mar 20, 2021 10:10 pm
I would like to sample guitar and other sounds into the mpc live 2. I understand i can do this with extra hardware, but i don’t have a studio and i would like to reduce time setting up equipment to a minimum.

Is there a workable way to get around this? For example i saw a zoom h4n which i can use to record, but will this be a workable solution or will this cost me even more time to import and sync the recordings?

I’m very new to this, so i hope you have some tips for me.
By 64hz Sat Mar 20, 2021 11:42 pm
You know you bought a sampler, right? What kind of guitar are you trying to record, electric?
By hyena Sun Mar 21, 2021 7:48 am
you can record\sample only two kind of signals in the mpc live:
1)line level signals (cd players, computer, synths, line out from guitar amps)
2)phono signals (turntables)

you cannot sample\record:
1)mic level signals (they are too weak and need preamping, you can try but you'll have a very low level and when you normalize it you'll have tons of noise)
2)hi-z\instrument (high impedance) signals (electric guitar\bass directly from the pickups)

to record electric guitar: plug it into your guitar amp and take the line out signal from it. if you don't have line out, use a microphone on the guitar amp, plug it into a mixer and record from the mixer (direct outs, aux send, main out...)
another way is to use something like Sansamp...

in general i think even a cheap mixer is a great companion to an mpc. you can exploit the multiple outs from the mpc and use its preamps for mics, down mix several sources to sample from them etc...
By DCS Sun Mar 21, 2021 1:52 pm